The Secretariat coordinates the activities of the Association and implement the programmes. The secretariat further maintains the records related to regulator’s activities as well as manage delivery of the technical support to the member states through the pooling of experts and capacity building.

Ephata J OLe

Mr. Ephata J. Ole-Lolubo Program Officer


CPA-T. Augustino B. Massawe Finance and Administration Lead


Ms. Khadija Hassan

Administrative Assistant


Dr Geoffrey Mabea, Kenyan, was appointed as the first Executive Secretary for Energy Regulators Association of East Africa. Dr Mabea was an energy expert who has been serving in national and international organisations in various leading positions, including GDC, PwC, KenGen and Northern Corridor Countries Integration Projects Committee. He is tasked with spearheading the realisation of robust Energy Union for East Africa Community countries.


Portfolio Committee


L yegon

Mr. Leonard Yegon


Economic Portfolio Committee


sindayigaya Leonidas(AREEN)-BURUNDI

Mr. Sindayigana LeonidasChairperson 

Legal Portfolio Committee



Eng. Gerald MagangaChairperson

Technical Portfolio Committee (TPC)


Ms. Leah Hadidah Jara


Legal Portfolio Committee



Country Liaison officers

john ntende (2)

Eng. John NtendeElectricity Regulatory Authority(ERA)

Eng. Deng

Eng. Jacob Manyuon Den

Ministry of Mines and Dams(South Sudan)


Eng. Dozith Abeinomugisha

The Petroleum Authority of Uganda(PAU)


Eng. Gerald MagangaEnergy and Water Utilities Regulatory Authority(EWURA)


Eng. Gerald RusineRwanda Utilities Regulatory Agency(RURA)


Mr. Lee OkombeEnergy and Petroleum Regulatory Authority(EPRA)


Mr. Mbarak Hassan Haji

Zanzibar Utilities Regulatory Authority (ZURA)


sindayigaya Leonidas(AREEN)-BURUNDI
Mr. Sindayigaya LeonidasAuthority for Regulation of Water and Energy Sectors (AREEN)