As stipulated by Article 10 of the EREA Constitution, the Association has three (3) Portfolio Committees that were established to handle specialist areas as highlighted below:

  1. Economic Portfolio Committee: This Committee deals with issues relating but not limited to policies, planning, tariffs, market operations, research and information.
  2. Technical Portfolio Committee: The Technical Portfolio Committee is responsible for deliberating on and dealing with issues relating but not limited to generation, transmission, distribution and supply of energy in terms of quality, safety, standards, energy systems integration, security and reliability of supply and promotion of renewable energy.
  3. Legal Portfolio Committee: The Legal Portfolio Committee deals with and deliberates on issues relating but not limited to drafting of legislation and regulations, interpretation, review and harmonization of laws and regulations, compliance and enforcement of laws and regulations.

The Portfolio Committees meet at least twice a year and make recommendations for consideration by the Executive Council.