The Electricity Regulatory Authority (ERA) of Uganda will host the 10th Annual General Assembly (AGA) of the Energy Regulators Association of East Africa (EREA). The AGA will take place on 1 June 2018 at the Kampala Serena Hotel in Uganda preceded by the 15th Executive Committee (EXCO) meeting on 31 May 2018 and the Portfolio Committee Meetings (PCs) starting on 28 – 30 May 2018 also at the Kampala Serena Hotel.

Delegates to the meetings includes the National Regulatory Institutions, and members of EREA. These are, AREEM – Burundi, ERC – Kenya, RURA – Rwanda, ERA – Uganda, EWURA – Tanzania, and the Zanzibar Utilities Regulatory Authority of Zanzibar (ZURA).

Others are the invited delegates development partners, and potential members of EREA from the Petroleum Upstream Regulatory Authority (PURA) of Tanzania, the Petroleum Authority of Uganda (PAU) and the Zanzibar’s Petroleum(Upstream) Regulatory Authority(ZPRA).

The 5-day meetings will involve presentations and discussions on progress implementation of EREA Action Plan in financial year 2017/18. The action plan in the proceeding financial year is the first plan drawn from yet the First 5-Year Strategic Plan of EREA. The meetings will equally review implementation progress of resolutions made by 14th EXCO meeting held on 15 December 2017, as well as the 9th AGA held on 16 June 2017 in Arusha-Tanzania respectively.

furthermore, the meetings will discuss some challenges facing the Association and chart-out commensurate actions to address them as part of action plan for financial year 2018/19 – also to be drawn from the 5-Year Strategic Plan of EREA. Please download a detailed program for the EREA meetings.

No comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *